Reporter's Handbook: Volunteer Health Agencies

Volunteer Health Agencies

Allergy & Asthma Network Mothers of Asthmatics

8229 Boone Blvd., Suite 200

Vienna, VA 22182

Phone: (800) 878-4403

Fax: (703) 288-5271

Website: www.aanma.org

Gary Fitzgerald, Managing Editor

E-Mail: gfitzgerald@aanma.org

 

Alliance for Aging Research

1700 K Street NW, Suite 740

Washington, DC 20006

Phone: (202) 293-2856

Fax: (202) 955-8394

E-Mail: press@agingresearch.org

Website: www.agingresearch.org

Samantha Hunter, Director of Development

Office: (202) 293-2856 ext. 153

E-Mail: info@agingresearch.org

 

The ALS Association

Media Relations

1275 K Street, NW, Suite 250

Washington, DC 20005

Phone: (202) 407-8580, ext. 592

E-Mail: mediarelations@alsa-national.org

Website: www.alsa.org

 

Alzheimer’s Association

225 North Michigan Avenue, 17th Floor

Chicago, IL 60601-7633

Phone: (312) 335-8700; (800) 272-3900

PR Department Phone: (312) 335-4078

PR Department Fax: (866) 720-0074

E-Mail: media@alz.org

Website: www.alz.org

 

American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association (Autoimmune Diseases Association)

22100 Gratiot Avenue

East Detroit, MI 48201

Phone: (586) 776-3900

Fax: (586) 776-3903

E-Mail: aarda@aarda.org

Website: www.aarda.org

Virginia Ladd

E-Mail: vladd@aarda.org

 

American Brain Tumor Association

8550 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue, Suite 550

Chicago, IL 60631

Phone: (773) 577-8750

Fax: (773) 577-8738

E-Mail: abtacares@abta.org

Website: www.abta.org

Sandy Abraham, Advancement Director, Marketing & Communications

Office: (773) 577-8791

E-Mail: sabraham@abta.org

 

American Cancer Society

250 Williams Street

Atlanta, GA 30303

Website: www.cancer.org

Atlanta Office

Judy Fortin, National Director, Media Relations

Office: (404) 417-5860

Cell: (404) 664-2016

E-Mail: judy.fortin@cancer.org

Sabriya Rice, Director, Media Relations

Office: (404) 417-5863

Cell: (404) 603-6599

E-Mail: sabriya.rice@cancer.org

Busola Afolabi, Manager, Media Relations

Office: (404) 417-5894

Cell: (678) 458-0684

E-Mail: busola.afolabi@cancer.org

Claire Greenwell, Media Relations Specialist

Office: (404) 417-5883

Cell: (678) 592-9517

E-Mail: claire.greenwell@cancer.org

New York Office

Andrew Becker, Director, Media Relations

Office: (212) 237-3899

Cell: (917) 673-7728

E-Mail: andrew.becker@cancer.org

Los Angeles Office

David Sampson, Director, Medical & Scientific Communications

Cell: (213) 407-9950

E-Mail: david.sampson@cancer.org

Advocacy, Washington, DC Office

Steve Weiss, Senior Director, Communications and Media

Office: (202) 661-5711

Cell: (202) 607-0911

E-Mail: steve.weiss@cancer.org

Alissa Crispino, Senior Manager, Media Advocacy

Office: (202) 661-5772

Cell: (240) 498-7233

E-Mail: alissa.crispino@cancer.org

 

American Diabetes Association

1701 North Beauregard Street

Alexandria, VA 22311

Phone: (703) 549-1500 or 800-DIABETES

Fax: (703) 549-6294

E-Mail: media@diabetes.org

Website: www.diabetes.org

 

American Heart Association

Corporate and Media Communications

7272 Greenville Avenue

Dallas, TX 75231

Phone: (214) 706-1396 or 800-AHA-USA-1

Fax: (214) 706-5243

Website: www.heart.org

Carrie Thacher, Senior Communications Manager, Corp. Comm. & Integration

Office: (214) 706-1605

E-Mail: carrie.thacher@heart.org

Julie Del Barto, Senior Communications Manager, National Broadcast/Multimedia

Office: (214) 706-1330

E-Mail: julie.delbarto@heart.org

Darcy Spitz, Senior Communications Manager, New York

Office: (212) 878-5940

Fax: (212) 878-5960

E-Mail: darcy.spitz@heart.org

 

American Kidney Fund

1192 Rockville Pike, Suite 300

Rockville, MD 20852

Phone: (301) 881-3052; (800) 638-8299

Fax: (301) 881-0898

Website: www.kidneyfund.org

Tenee Hawkins, Director of Communications

Office: (404) 658-1423

E-Mail: thawkins@kidneyfund.org

 

American Liver Foundation

39 Broadway, Suite 2700

New York, NY 10006

Phone: (212) 668-1000; (800) 465-4837

Fax: (212) 483-8179

E-Mail: info@liverfoundation.org

Website: www.liverfoundation.org

 

American Lung Association

1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 800

Washington, DC 20004

Phone: (202) 785-3355; (800) 586-4872

Fax: (202) 452-1805

E-Mail: info@lungusa.org

Website: www.lungusa.org

Mike Townsend

Office: (202) 715-3450

E-Mail: MTownsend@lungusa.org

 

American Parkinson Disease Association

135 Parkinson Avenue

Staten Island, NY 10305

Phone: (800) 223-2732; (718) 981-8001

Fax: (718) 981-4399

E-Mail: apda@apdaparkinson.org

Website: www.apdaparkinson.org

 

amfAR: The Foundation for AIDS Research

120 Wall Street, 13th Floor

New York, NY 10005-3908

Phone: (212) 806-1600

Fax: (212) 806-1601

Website: www.amfar.org

Joana Casas, Manager, Program Communications

Office: (212) 806-1602

E-Mail: joana.casas@amfar.org

 

Arthritis Foundation

National Office

1330 West Peachtree Street, N.W., Suite 100

Atlanta, GA 30309-2904

Phone: (404) 872-7100

Fax: (404) 872-8694

Website: www.arthritis.org

Carol Galbreath

Office: (404) 965-7595

E-Mail: cgalbreath@arthritis.org

 

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America

8201 Corporate Drive, Suite 1000

Landover, MD 20785

Phone: (202) 466-7643

Fax: (202) 466-8940

E-Mail: info@aafa.org

Website: www.aafa.org

Mike Tringale, M.S.M., Vice President of External Affairs

Office: (202) 466-7643, ext. 272

E-Mail: mike@aafa.org

 

Brain Injury Association of America

1608 Spring Hill Road, Suite 110

Vienna, VA 22182

Phone: (703) 761-0750; (800) 444-6443

Fax: (703) 761-0755

E-Mail: braininjuryinfo@biausa.org

Website: www.biausa.org

 

Cancer Research Institute

National Headquarters

One Exchange Plaza

55 Broadway, Suite 1802

New York, NY 10006

Phone: (212) 688-7515; (800) 992-2623

Fax: (212) 832-9376

E-Mail: info@cancerresearch.org

Website: www.cancerresearch.org

Brian M. Brewer, Director of Communications

Office: (212) 688-7515, ext. 242

E-Mail: bbrewer@cancerresearch.org

 

Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America

733 Thurd Ave, Suite 510

New York, NY 10017

Phone: (800) 932-2423

Fax: (212) 779-4098

E-Mail: info@ccfa.org

Website: www.ccfa.org

Lenora Houseworth

Office: (646) 943-7415

E-Mail: lhouseworth@ccfa.org

Erin Mulvey Stoeber

Office: (646) 943-7458

Cell: (347) 899-5479

E-Mail: estoeber@ccfa.org

 

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

6931 Arlington Road, 2nd Floor

Bethesda, MD 20814

Phone: (301) 951-4422; (800) 344-4823

Fax: (301) 951-6378

E-Mail: info@cff.org

Website: www.cff.org

Laurie Fink, Director of Media Relations

Office: (301) 841-2602

E-Mail: lfink@cff.org

 

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance  (DBSA)

730 North Franklin Street, Suite 501

Chicago, IL 60654-7225

Phone: (312) 642-0049; (800) 826-3632

Fax: (312) 642-7243

Website: www.dbsalliance.org

 

Easter Seals

233 South Wacker Drive, Suite 2400

Chicago, IL 60606

Phone: (800) 221-6827

Fax: (312) 726-1494

E-Mail: info@easterseals.com

Website: www.easterseals.com

Kristen Barnfield

Office: (312) 551-7147

E-Mail: kbarnfield@easterseals.com

Katy Beh Neas

Office: (202) 403-8307

E-Mail: kneas@easterseals.com

 

Epilepsy Foundation

8301 Professional Place

Landover, MD 20785-7223

Phone: (301) 459-3700; (800) 332-1000

Fax: (301) 577-2684

E-Mail: contactus@efa.org

Website: www.epilepsyfoundation.org

Kenneth Lowenberg, Vice President, Communications

Office: (301) 918-3773

E-Mail: klowenberg@efa.org

 

First Candle / SIDS Alliance

2105 Laurel Bush Rd., Suite 201

Bel Air, MD 21015

Phone: (800) 221-7437; (410) 653-8226

E-Mail: info@firstcandle.org

Website: www.firstcandle.org

Laura L. Reno

Office: (313) 885-6095

Cell: (313) 268-5298

E-Mail: laura.reno@firstcandle.org

 

Foundation Fighting Blindness

7168 Columbia Gateway Drive, Suite 100

Columbia, MD 21046

Phone: (410) 423-0600; (800) 683-5555

Fax: (410) 872-0438

E-Mail: info@fightblindness.org

Website: www.blindness.org

Rick Shea, Senior Manager, Media Relations

Office: (410) 423-0626

E-Mail: rshea@fightblindness.org

 

GBS/CIDP Foundation International — Guillain-Barré Syndrome/Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy

The Holly Building

104 1/2 Forrest Avenue

Narberth, PA 19072

Phone: (610) 667-0131

Fax: (610) 667-7036

E-Mail: info@gbs-cidp.org

Website: www.gbs-cidp.org

Estelle Benson, Founding Director

Ken Singleton, Executive Director

 

Glaucoma Research Foundation

251 Post Avenue, Suite 600

San Francisco, CA 94108

Phone: (415) 986-3162; (800) 826-6693

Fax: (415) 986-3763

E-Mail: question@glaucoma.org

Website: www.glaucoma.org

 

Hepatitis Foundation International

8121 Georgia Ave, Suite 550

Silver Spring, MD 20910

Phone: (301) 879-6891

Fax: (301) 879-6890

E-Mail: info@hepatitisfoundation.org

Website: www.hepatitisfoundation.org

Ivonne Perlaza Fuller, CEO

E-Mail: ipfuller@hepatitisfoundation.org

 

Huntington’s Disease Society of America

505 Eighth Avenue, Suite 902

New York, NY 10018

Phone: (212) 242-1968; (800) 345-HDSA

Fax: (212) 239-3430

E-Mail: hdsainfo@hdsa.org

Website: www.hdsa.org

Louise Vetter, Chief Executive Officer

Office: (212) 242-1968, ext. 220

E-Mail: lvetter@hdsa.org

Christopher Cosentino, Director of Marketing and Communications

Office: (212) 242-1968, ext. 229

E-Mail: ccosentino@hdsa.org

 

The International Foundation for Research and Education on Depression

P.O. Box 17598

Baltimore, MD 21297-1598

Phone: (410) 268-0044

Fax: (443) 782-0739

E-Mail: info@ifred.org

Website: www.ifred.org

 

Interstitial Cystitis Association

1760 Old Meadow Road, Suite 500

McLean, VA 22102

Phone: (703) 442-2070

Fax: (703) 506-3266

E-Mail: icamail@ichelp.org

Website: www.ichelp.org

 

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International

26 Broadway, 14th Floor

New York, NY 10004

Phone: (800) 533-2873

Fax: (212) 785-9595

E-Mail: info@jdrf.org

Website: www.jdrf.org

Christopher Rucas, Director, Public Relations

Office: (212) 479-7667

 

Kidney Cancer Association

1234 Sherman Avenue, Suite 203

Evanston, IL 60202-1375

Phone: (847) 332-1051

Fax: (847) 332-2978

Website: www.kidneycancer.org

William P. Bro, CEO

Office: (847) 332-1051, ext. 105

E-Mail: bbro@kidneycancer.org

 

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

1311 Mamaroneck Avenue

White Plains, NY 10605

Phone: (914) 949-5213

Fax: (914) 949-6691

Website: www.lls.org

Andrea Greif, Director, Public Relations

Office: (914) 821-8958

E-Mail: andrea.greif@lls.org

 

Lupus Foundation of America

2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 410

Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 349-1155

Fax: (202) 349-1156

Website: www.lupus.org

Maggie Maloney, Public Relations Director

Office: (202) 212-6766

E-Mail: maloney@lupus.org

Duane Peters, Senior Director, Communications

Office: (202) 349-1145

E-Mail: peters@lupus.org

 

March of Dimes

1275 Mamaroneck Avenue

White Plains, NY 10605

Phone: (914) 997-4488

Fax: (914) 997-4585

Website: www.marchofdimes.com

Michele Kling, Director, Media Relations

Office: (914) 997-4613

Cell: (914) 843-9487

E-Mail: mkling@marchofdimes.com

Todd P. Dezen, Associate Director, Media Relations

Office: (914) 997-4608

Cell: (914) 843-1068

E-Mail: tdezen@marchofdimes.com

 

Mental Health America

2000 N. Beauregard Street, 6th Floor

Alexandria, VA 22311

Phone: (703) 684-7722; (800) 969-6642

Fax: (703) 684-5968

E-Mail: mediainfo@mentalhealthamerica.net

Website: www.mentalhealthamerica.net

Steve Vetzener, Senior Director of Media Relations

Office: (703) 797-2588

E-Mail: svetzener@mentalhealthamerica.net

 

Muscular Dystrophy Association

3300 E. Sunrise Drive

Tucson, AZ 85718

Phone: (520) 529-2000; (800) 572-1717

Fax: (520) 529-5383

E-Mail: publicrelations@mdausa.org

Website: www.mda.org; www.als-mda.org

Roxan Olivas, Vice President, Public Relations

Office: (520) 529-5317

E-Mail: rolivas@mdausa.org

 

Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America

355 Lexington Avenue, 15th Floor

New York, NY 10017

Phone: (212) 297-2156; (800) 541-5454

Fax: (212) 370-9047

E-Mail: mgfa@myasthenia.org

Website: www.myasthenia.org

Tor Holtan, Chief Executive Officer

E-Mail: tholtan@kellencompany.com

 

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)

3803 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 100

Arlington, VA 22203

Phone: (703) 524-7600

Fax: (703) 524-9094

Website: www.nami.org

Bob Carolla, Director of Media Relations

Email: bobc@nami.org

 

The National Caucus and Center on Black Aged

1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 800

Washington, DC 20005

Phone: (202) 637-8400

Fax: (202) 347-0895

E-Mail: support@ncba-aged.org

Website: www.ncba-aged.org

Karyne Jones, President and CEO

Office: (202) 637-8400, ext. 111

E-Mail: kjones@ncba-aged.org

 

National Council on Aging

1901 L Street, N.W., 4th Floor

Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 479-1200

Fax: (202) 479-0735

Website: www.ncoa.org

Ken Schwartz, Director of Marketing & Communications

Office: (202) 600-3131

E-Mail: ken.schwartz@ncoa.org

 

National Down Syndrome Society

666 Broadway, 8th Floor

New York, NY 10012

Phone: (212) 763-4369; (800) 221-4602

Fax: (212) 979-2873

E-Mail: info@ndss.org

Website: www.ndss.org

Mark Priceman, Vice President of Communications & Marketing

Office: (212) 763-4361

E-Mail: mpriceman@ndss.org

 

National Family Caregivers Association

10400 Connecticut Avenue, Suite 500

Kensington, MD 20895-3944

Phone: (301) 942-6430

Fax: (301) 942-2302

E-Mail: info@thefamilycaregiver.org

Website: www.thefamilycaregiver.org

Leah Eskenazi, Director, Operations

E-Mail: leah.eskenazi@thefamilycaregiver.org

 

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases

7201 Wisconsin Ave

Bethesda, MD 20814

Phone: (301) 656-0003

Fax: (301) 907-0878

E-Mail: info@nfid.org

Website: www.nfid.org

Marla Dalton, Executive Director

E-Mail: mdalton@nfid.org

 

National Health Council

1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 500

Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 785-3910

Fax: (202) 785-5923

E-Mail: info@nhcouncil.org

Website: www.nationalhealthcouncil.org

Nancy Hughes, Vice President, Communications & Marketing

Office: (202) 973-0550

E-Mail: nhughes@nhcouncil.org

 

National Hemophilia Foundation

116 West 32nd Street, 11th Floor

New York, NY 10001

Phone: (212) 328-3700

Fax: (212) 328-3777

E-Mail: handi@hemophilia.org

Website: www.hemophilia.org

John Indence, Vice President for Marketing & Communications

 

National Kidney Foundation

30 East 33rd Street

New York, NY 10016

Phone: (212) 889-2210; (800) 622-9010

Fax: (212) 689-9261

Website: www.kidney.org

 

National Multiple Sclerosis Society

1800 M Street NW, Suite 750 South

Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 296-9363

Website: www.nationalmssociety.org

Diane Metzger, Communications Specialist

E-Mail: diane.metzger@nmss.org

 

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)

55 Kenosia Avenue

P.O. Box 1968

Danbury, CT 06813-1968

Phone: (203) 744-0100

Fax: (203) 798-2291

E-Mail: orphan@rarediseases.org

Website: www.rarediseases.org

DC Office

1779 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 500

Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 588-5700

Fax: (202) 588-5701

Peter Saltonstall, President & CEO

E-Mail: psaltonstall@rarediseases.org

Mary Dunkle, Vice President of Communications

E-Mail: mdunkle@rarediseases.org

Diane Dorman, Vice President of Public Policy

E-Mail: ddorman@rarediseases.org

 

National Osteoporosis Foundation

1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 850

Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 223-2226

Fax: (202) 223-2237

E-Mail: communications@nof.org

Website: www.nof.org

 

National Parkinson Foundation

200 SE 1st Street, Suite 800

Miami, FL 33131

Phone: (800) 473-4636

Fax: (305) 243-6073

E-Mail: contact@parkinson.org

Website: www.parkinson.org

Leilani Pearl

Office: (305) 537-9907

E-Mail: lpearl@parkinson.org

 

National Prostate Cancer Coalition (ZERO)

515 King Street, Suite 420

Alexandria, VA 22314

Phone: (202) 463-9455; (888) 245-9455

Fax: (571) 257-8559

E-Mail: info@zerocancer.org

Website: www.zerocancer.org

Melissa Kadish, Press Secretary

Office: (202) 303-3104

E-Mail: melissa@zerocancer.org

 

National Psoriasis Foundation

6600 S.W. 92nd Avenue, Suite 300

Portland, OR 97223

Phone: (800) 723-9166

Fax: (503) 245-0626

E-Mail: getinfo@psoriasis.org

Website: www.psoriasis.org

Catie Coman, Vice President, Communications & Marketing

Office: (800) 723-9166, ext. 367

E-Mail: ccoman@psoriasis.org

 

National Stroke Association

9707 E. Easter Lane, Suite B

Englewood, CO 80112-3747

Phone: (800) 787-6537

Fax: (303) 649-1328

Website: www.stroke.org

Clair Diones, Director, Marketing & Communications

Office: (303) 754-0919

E-Mail: cdiones@stroke.org

 

The Paget Foundation for Paget’s Disease of Bone and Related Disorders

120 Wall Street, Suite 1602

New York, NY 10005-4001

Phone: (212) 509-5335

Fax: (212) 509-8492

E-Mail: pagetfdn@aol.com

Website: www.paget.org

Charlene Waldman, Executive Director

 

Parkinson’s Disease Foundation

1359 Broadway, Suite 1509

New York, NY 10018

Phone: (212) 923-4700; (800) 457-6676

Fax: (212) 923-4778

E-Mail: info@pdf.org

Website: www.pdf.org

Christiana Evers, Director of Communications

E-Mail: cevers@pdf.org

 

Prevent Blindness America

211 W. Wacker Drive, Suite 1700

Chicago, IL 60606

Phone: (312) 363-6001; (800) 331-2020

Fax: (312) 363-6052

E-Mail: info@preventblindness.org

Website: www.preventblindness.org

Sarah Hecker, Director, Media Relations

E-Mail: shecker@preventblindness.org

Jeff Todd, Chief Operating Officer

E-Mail: jtodd@preventblindness.org

 

Pulmonary Hypertension Association

801 Roeder Road, Suite 1000

Silver Spring, MD 20910

Phone: (301) 565-3004

Fax: (301) 565-3994

E-Mail: media@phassociation.org

Website: www.phassociation.org

Katherine Kroner

Phone: (301) 565-3004, ext. 749

E-Mail: katherine@phassociation.org

 

Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc.

231 East Baltimore Street, Suite 800

Baltimore, MD 21202

Phone: (410) 528-1555; (800) 421-8453

Fax: (410) 528-1495

E-Mail: scdaa@sicklecelldisease.org

Website: www.sicklecelldisease.org

 

The Skin Cancer Foundation

149 Madison Avenue, Suite 901

New York, NY 10016

Phone: (212) 725-5176

Fax: (212) 725-5751

E-Mail: info@skincancer.org

Website: www.skincancer.org

Carla Barry-Austin, Director of Marketing Communications

Office: (212) 725-5641

E-Mail: cbarryaustin@skincancer.org

Emily Prager, Communications Manager

Office: (646) 583-7988

E-Mail: eprager@skincancer.org

Spina Bifida Association

1000 Wilson Blvd., Suite 800

Arlington, VA 22209

Phone: (202) 944-3285; (800) 621-3141

Fax: (202) 944-3295

E-Mail: sbaa@sbaa.org

Website: www.spinabifidaassociation.org

 

Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance

801 Roeder Road, Suite 750

Silver Spring, MD 20910

Phone: (301) 562-9890; (800) 225-6872

Fax: (301) 562-9870

E-Mail: info@tsalliance.org

Website: www.tsalliance.org

Jaye D. Isham, Vice President, Communication Strategy

Office: (301) 562-9890

E-Mail: jisham@tsalliance.org

 

United Cerebral Palsy (UCP)

1825 K Street, NW, Suite 600

Washington, DC 20006

Phone: (202) 776-0406; (800) 872-5827

Fax: (202) 776-0414

E-Mail: info@ucp.org

Website: www.ucp.org

Shelly DeButts, Director, Communications & Marketing

Office: (202) 973-7114

E-Mail: sdebutts@ucp.org

More On PhRMA — powered by PhRMApedia