Reporter's Handbook: Volunteer Health Agencies

Volunteer Health Agencies

Allergy & Asthma Network Mothers of Asthmatics
8201 Greensboro Drive, Suite 300
McLean, VA 22102
Phone: (800) 878-4403
Fax: (703) 288-5271
Website: www.aanma.org
Christie Chapman, Editor
E-Mail: editor@aanma.org
 
Alliance for Aging Research
750 17th St., NW, Suite 1100
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 293-2856
Fax: (202) 955-8394
E-Mail: press@agingresearch.org
Website: www.agingresearch.org
Debbie Zeldow, Executive Vice President
Office: (202) 293-2856
E-Mail: dzeldow@agingresearch.org
 
The ALS Association
Media Relations
1275 K Street, NW, Suite 1050
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (818) 880-9007, ext. 243
E-Mail: mediarelations@alsa-national.org
Website: www.alsa.org
 
Alzheimer’s Association
225 North Michigan Avenue, 17th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601-7633
Phone: (312) 335-8700; (800) 272-3900
PR Department Phone: (312) 335-4078
PR Department Fax: (866) 720-0074
E-Mail: media@alz.org
Website: www.alz.org
 
American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association (Autoimmune Diseases Association)
22100 Gratiot Avenue
East Detroit, MI 48201
Phone: (586) 776-3900
Fax: (586) 776-3903
E-Mail: aarda@aarda.org
Website: www.aarda.org
Virginia Ladd
 
American Brain Tumor Association
8550 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Suite 550
Chicago, IL 60631
Phone: (773) 577-8750
Fax: (773) 577-8738
E-Mail: abtacares@abta.org
Website: www.abta.org
Garett Auriemma, Director of Marketing & Communications
Office: (773) 577-8791
E-Mail: gauriemma@abta.org
Kate Butler, Marketing & Communications Manager
Office: (773) 577-8792
E-Mail: kbutler@abta.org
 
American Cancer Society
250 Williams Street
Atlanta, GA 30303
Website: www.cancer.org
Atlanta Office
Judy Fortin, National Director, Media Relations
Office: (404) 417-5860
Cell: (404) 664-2016
E-Mail: judy.fortin@cancer.org
Sabriya Rice, Director, Media Relations
Office: (404) 417-5863
Cell: (404) 603-6599
E-Mail: sabriya.rice@cancer.org
Busola Afolabi, Manager, Media Relations
Office: (404) 417-5894
Cell: (678) 458-0684
E-Mail: busola.afolabi@cancer.org
Claire Greenwell, Media Relations Specialist
Office: (404) 417-5883
Cell: (678) 592-9517
E-Mail: claire.greenwell@cancer.org
New York Office
Andrew Becker, Director, Media Relations
Office: (212) 237-3899
Cell: (917) 673-7728
E-Mail: andrew.becker@cancer.org
Los Angeles Office
David Sampson, Director, Medical & Scientific Communications
Office: (213) 368-8523
Cell: (213) 840-7525
E-Mail: david.sampson@cancer.org
Advocacy, Washington, DC Office
Steve Weiss, Senior Director, Communications and Media
Office: (202) 661-5710
Cell: (202) 607-0911
E-Mail: steve.weiss@cancer.org
Alissa Havens, Senior Manager, Media Advocacy
Office: (202) 661-5772
Cell: (202) 905-1300
E-Mail: alissa.havens@cancer.org

American Diabetes Association
1701 North Beauregard Street
Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone: (703) 549-1500 or 800-DIABETES
Fax: (703) 549-6294
E-Mail: media@diabetes.org
Website: www.diabetes.org
 
American Heart Association
Corporate and Media Communications
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas, TX 75231
Phone: (214) 706-1396 or 800-AHA-USA-1
Fax: (214) 706-5243
Website: www.heart.org
Cathy Lewis, Senior Communications Manager, Corp. Comm. & Integration
E-Mail: cathy.lewis@heart.org
Julie Del Barto, Senior Communications Manager, National Broadcast/Multimedia
Office: (214) 706-1330
E-Mail: julie.delbarto@heart.org
Darcy Spitz, Senior Communications Manager, New York
Office: (212) 878-5940
Fax: (212) 878-5960
E-Mail: darcy.spitz@heart.org
 
American Kidney Fund
6110 Executive Boulevard, Suite 1010
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: (301) 881-3052; (800) 638-8299
Fax: (301) 881-0898
Website: www.kidneyfund.org
Tenee Hawkins, Director of Communications
Office: (404) 658-1423
E-Mail: thawkins@kidneyfund.org
 
American Liver Foundation
39 Broadway, Suite 2700
New York, NY 10006
Phone: (212) 668-1000; (800) 465-4837
Fax: (212) 483-8179
E-Mail: info@liverfoundation.org
Website: www.liverfoundation.org
 
American Lung Association
1301 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800
Washington, DC 20004
Phone: (202) 785-3355; (800) 586-4872
Fax: (202) 452-1805
E-Mail: info@lungusa.org
Website: www.lungusa.org
Mike Townsend
Office: (202) 715-3450
E-Mail: MTownsend@lungusa.org
 
American Parkinson Disease Association
135 Parkinson Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10305
Phone: (800) 223-2732; (718) 981-8001
Fax: (718) 981-4399
E-Mail: apda@apdaparkinson.org
Website: www.apdaparkinson.org
 
amfAR: The Foundation for AIDS Research
120 Wall Street, 13th Floor
New York, NY 10005-3908
Phone: (212) 806-1600
Fax: (212) 806-1601
Website: www.amfar.org
Cub Barrett, Manager, Program Communications
Office: (212) 806-1602
E-Mail: cub.barrett@amfar.org
 
Arthritis Foundation
National Office
1330 West Peachtree Street, N.W., Suite 100
Atlanta, GA 30309-2904
Phone: (404) 872-7100
Fax: (404) 872-8694
Website: www.arthritis.org
Carol Galbreath
Office: (404) 965-7595
E-Mail: cgalbreath@arthritis.org
 
Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
8201 Corporate Drive, Suite 1000
Landover, MD 20785
Phone: (202) 466-7643
Fax: (202) 466-8940
E-Mail: info@aafa.org
Website: www.aafa.org
Mike Tringale, M.S.M., Vice President of External Affairs
Office: (202) 466-7643, ext. 272
E-Mail: mike@aafa.org
 
Brain Injury Association of America
1608 Spring Hill Road, Suite 110
Vienna, VA 22182
Phone: (703) 761-0750; (800) 444-6443
Fax: (703) 761-0755
E-Mail: braininjuryinfo@biausa.org
Website: www.biausa.org
 
Cancer Research Institute
National Headquarters
One Exchange Plaza
55 Broadway, Suite 1802
New York, NY 10006
Phone: (212) 688-7515; (800) 992-2623
Fax: (212) 832-9376
E-Mail: info@cancerresearch.org
Website: www.cancerresearch.org
Brian M. Brewer, Director of Communications
Office: (212) 688-7515, ext. 242
E-Mail: bbrewer@cancerresearch.org
 
Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America
386 Park Avenue South, 17th Floor
New York, NY 10016
Phone: (800) 932-2423
Fax: (212) 779-4098
E-Mail: info@ccfa.org
Website: www.ccfa.org
Anna Radev
Office: (646) 943-7430
Cell: (646) 717-6212
E-Mail: aradev@ccfa.org
Erin Mulvey Stoeber
Office: (646) 943-7458
Cell: (347) 899-5479
E-Mail: estoeber@ccfa.org
 
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
6931 Arlington Road, 2nd Floor
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (301) 951-4422; (800) 344-4823
Fax: (301) 951-6378
E-Mail: info@cff.org
Website: www.cff.org
Laurie Fink, Director of Media Relations
Office: (301) 841-2602
E-Mail: lfink@cff.org
 
Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)
730 North Franklin Street, Suite 501
Chicago, IL 60654-7225
Phone: (312) 642-0049; (800) 826-3632
Fax: (312) 642-7243
E-Mail: media@dbsalliance.org
Website: www.dbsalliance.org
 
Easter Seals
233 South Wacker Drive, Suite 2400
Chicago, IL 60606
Phone: (800) 221-6827
Fax: (312) 726-1494
E-Mail: info@easterseals.com
Website: www.easterseals.com
Kristen Barnfield
Office: (312) 551-7147
E-Mail: kbarnfield@easterseals.com
Sara Brewster
Office: (312) 551-7141
E-Mail: sbrewster@easterseals.com
 
Epilepsy Foundation
8301 Professional Place
Landover, MD 20785-7223
Phone: (301) 459-3700; (800) 332-1000
Fax: (301) 577-2684
E-Mail: contactus@efa.org
Website: www.epilepsyfoundation.org
Kimberli Meadows
Office: (301) 918-3747
Cell: (301) 520-6656
E-Mail: kmeadows@efa.org
Kisha James
Office: (301) 918-3768
E-Mail: kjames@efa.org
 
First Candle / SIDS Alliance
1314 Bedford Avenue, Suite 210
Baltimore, MD 21208
Phone: (800) 221-7437; (410) 653-8226
E-Mail: info@firstcandle.org
Website: www.firstcandle.org
Laura L. Reno
Office: (313) 885-6095
Cell: (313) 268-5298
E-Mail: laura.reno@firstcandle.org

Foundation Fighting Blindness
7168 Columbia Gateway Drive, Suite 100
Columbia, MD 21046
Phone: (410) 423-0600; (800) 683-5555
Fax: (410) 872-0438
E-Mail: info@fightblindness.org
Website: www.blindness.org
Allie Gebhardt, Senior Manager, Media Relations
Office: (410) 423-0643
E-Mail: agebhardt@fightblindness.org
 
GBS/CIDP Foundation International — Guillain-Barré Syndrome/Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy
The Holly Building
104 1/2 Forrest Avenue
Narberth, PA 19072
Phone: (610) 667-0131
Fax: (610) 667-7036
E-Mail: info@gbs-cidp.org
Website: www.gbs-cidp.org
Estelle Benson, Founding Director
Ken Singleton, Executive Director
 
Glaucoma Research Foundation
251 Post Avenue, Suite 600
San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone: (415) 986-3162; (800) 826-6693
Fax: (415) 986-3763
E-Mail: question@glaucoma.org
Website: www.glaucoma.org
 
Hepatitis Foundation International
504 Blick Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Phone: (301) 622-4200
Fax: (301) 622-4702
E-Mail: info@hepatitisfoundation.org
Website: www.hepatitisfoundation.org
Thelma King Thiel, Chairman and CEO
Office: (301) 622-4200
Home: (301) 625-9076
E-Mail: TKT@comcast.net
 
Huntington’s Disease Society of America
505 Eighth Avenue, Suite 902
New York, NY 10018
Phone: (212) 242-1968; (800) 345-HDSA
Fax: (212) 239-3430
E-Mail: hdsainfo@hdsa.org
Website: www.hdsa.org
Louise Vetter, Chief Executive Officer
Office: (212) 242-1968, ext. 220
E-Mail: lvetter@hdsa.org
Fred Taubman, Director of Marketing Development and Communications
Office: (212) 242-1968, ext. 229
E-Mail: ftaubman@hdsa.org
 
The International Foundation for Research and Education on Depression
P.O. Box 17598
Baltimore, MD 21297-1598
Phone: (410) 268-0044
Fax: (443) 782-0739
E-Mail: info@ifred.org
Website: www.ifred.org
 
Interstitial Cystitis Association
1760 Old Meadow Road, Suite 500
McLean, VA 22102
Phone: (703) 442-2070
Fax: (703) 506-3266
E-Mail: icamail@ichelp.org
Website: www.ichelp.org
 
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International
26 Broadway, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10004
Phone: (800) 533-2873
Fax: (212) 785-9595
E-Mail: info@jdrf.org
Website: www.jdrf.org
Maria Joana Casas, National Manager of Media Relations
Office: (212) 479-7560
Cell: (917) 574-6122
E-Mail: mcasas@jdrf.org
 
Kidney Cancer Association
1234 Sherman Avenue, Suite 203
Evanston, IL 60202-1375
Phone: (847) 332-1051
Fax: (847) 332-2978
Website: www.kidneycancer.org
William P. Bro
Office: (847) 332-1051, ext. 105
E-Mail: bbro@kidneycancer.org
 
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
1311 Mamaroneck Avenue
White Plains, NY 10605
Phone: (914) 949-5213
Fax: (914) 949-6691
Website: www.lls.org
Nancy Klein, Chief Marketing & Revenue Officer
Office: (914) 821-8812
E-Mail: nancy.klein@lls.org
Andrea Greif, Director, Public Relations
Office: (914) 821-8958
E-Mail: andrea.greif@lls.org
 
Lupus Foundation of America
2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 410
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 349-1155
Fax: (202) 349-1156
Website: www.lupus.org
Maggie Maloney, Public Relations Manager
Office: (202) 212-6766
E-Mail: maloney@lupus.org
Duane Peters, Senior Director, Communications
Office: (202) 349-1145
E-Mail: peters@lupus.org
 
March of Dimes
1275 Mamaroneck Avenue
White Plains, NY 10605
Phone: (914) 997-4488
Fax: (914) 997-4585
Website: www.marchofdimes.com
Michele Kling, Director, Media Relations
Office: (914) 997-4613
Cell: (914) 843-9487
E-Mail: mkling@marchofdimes.com
Elizabeth Lynch, Manager, Print Media Relations
Office: (914) 997-4286
Cell: (914) 953-1089
E-Mail: elynch@marchofdimes.org
Todd P. Dezen, Associate Director, Media Relations
Office: (914) 997-4608
Cell: (914) 843-1068
E-Mail: tdezen@marchofdimes.com
 
Mental Health America
2000 N. Beauregard Street, 6th Floor
Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone: (703) 684-7722; (800) 969-6642
Fax: (703) 684-5968
E-Mail: mediainfo@mentalhealthamerica.net
Website: www.mentalhealthamerica.net
Steve Vetzener, Senior Director of Media Relations
Office: (703) 797-2588
E-Mail: svetzener@mentalhealthamerica.net
 
Muscular Dystrophy Association
3300 E. Sunrise Drive
Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone: (520) 529-2000; (800) 572-1717
Fax: (520) 529-5383
E-Mail: publicrelations@mdausa.org
Website: www.mda.org; www.als-mda.org
Jim Brown
Office: (520) 529-5317
E-Mail: jbrown@mdausa.org
 
Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America
355 Lexington Avenue, 15th Floor
New York, NY 10017
Phone: (212) 297-2156; (800) 541-5454
Fax: (212) 370-9047
E-Mail: mgfa@myasthenia.org
Website: www.myasthenia.org
Tor Holtan, Chief Executive Officer
E-Mail: tholtan@kellencompany.com
 
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
3803 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 100
Arlington, VA 22203
Phone: (703) 524-7600
Fax: (703) 524-9094
Website: www.nami.org
Bob Carolla, Director of Media Relations
Email: bobc@nami.org

The National Caucus and Center on Black Aged
1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 800
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (202) 637-8400
Fax: (202) 347-0895
E-Mail: support@ncba-aged.org
Website: www.ncba-aged.org
Karyne Jones, President and CEO
Office: (202) 637-8400, ext. 111
E-Mail: kjones@ncba-aged.org
 
National Council on Aging
1901 L Street, N.W., 4th Floor
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 479-1200
Fax: (202) 479-0735
Website: www.ncoa.org
Ken Schwartz, Director of Marketing & Communications
Office: (202) 600-3131
E-Mail: ken.schwartz@ncoa.org
 
National Down Syndrome Society
666 Broadway, 8th Floor
New York, NY 10012
Phone: (212) 763-4369; (800) 221-4602
Fax: (212) 979-2873
E-Mail: info@ndss.org
Website: www.ndss.org
Julie Cevallos, Vice President of Marketing
Office: (212) 763-4361
E-Mail: jcevallos@ndss.org
 
National Family Caregivers Association
10400 Connecticut Avenue, Suite 500
Kensington, MD 20895-3944
Phone: (301) 942-6430
Fax: (301) 942-2302
E-Mail: info@thefamilycaregiver.org
Website: www.thefamilycaregiver.org
Deborah Halpern
E-Mail: deborah.halpern@thefamilycaregiver.org
 
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases
4733 Bethesda Avenue, Suite 750
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (301) 656-0003
Fax: (301) 907-0878
E-Mail: info@nfid.org
Website: www.nfid.org
Leonard Novick, Executive Director
E-Mail: lnovick@nfid.org
 
National Health Council
1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 785-3910
Fax: (202) 785-5923
E-Mail: info@nhcouncil.org
Website: www.nationalhealthcouncil.org
Nancy Hughes
Office: (202) 973-0550
E-Mail: nhughes@nhcouncil.org
Emily Noonan
Office: (202) 973-0548
E-Mail: enoonan@nhcouncil.org
 
National Hemophilia Foundation
116 West 32nd Street, 11th Floor
New York, NY 10001
Phone: (212) 328-3700
Fax: (212) 328-3777
E-Mail: handi@hemophilia.org
Website: www.hemophilia.org
John Indence, Vice President for Marketing & Communications
 
National Kidney Foundation
30 East 33rd Street
New York, NY 10016
Phone: (212) 889-2210; (800) 622-9010
Fax: (212) 689-9261
Website: www.kidney.org
 
National Multiple Sclerosis Society
733 Third Avenue, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10017-3288
Phone: (212) 986-3240
Fax: (212) 986-7981
Website: www.nationalmssociety.org
Arney Rosenblat
Office: (212) 476-0436
E-Mail: arney.rosenblat@nmss.org
 
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
55 Kenosia Avenue
P.O. Box 1968
Danbury, CT 06813-1968
Phone: (203) 744-0100
Fax: (203) 798-2291
E-Mail: orphan@rarediseases.org
Website: www.rarediseases.org
DC Office
1779 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 588-5700
Fax: (202) 588-5701
Peter Saltonstall, President
E-Mail: psaltonstall@rarediseases.org
Mary Dunkle, Vice President of Communications
E-Mail: mdunkle@rarediseases.org
Diane Dorman, Vice President of Public Policy
E-Mail: ddorman@rarediseases.org
 
National Osteoporosis Foundation
1150 17th Street N.W., Suite 850
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 223-2226
Fax: (202) 223-2237
E-Mail: communications@nof.org
Website: www.nof.org
 
National Parkinson Foundation
1501 N.W. Ninth Avenue / Bob Hope Road
Miami, FL 33136-1494
Phone: (305) 243-6666; (800) 327-4545
Fax: (305) 243-6073
E-Mail: contact@parkinson.org
Website: www.parkinson.org
Leilani Pearl
Office: (305) 243-7951
E-Mail: lpearl@parkinson.org
 
National Prostate Cancer Coalition
10 G Street, NE, Suite 601
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 463-9455; (888) 245-9455
Fax: (571) 257-8559
E-Mail: info@zerocancer.org
Website: www.zerocancer.org
Melissa Kadish, Press Secretary
Office: (202) 303-3104
E-Mail: melissa@zerocancer.org
 
National Psoriasis Foundation
6600 S.W. 92nd Avenue, Suite 300
Portland, OR 97223
Phone: (800) 723-9166
Fax: (503) 245-0626
E-Mail: getinfo@psoriasis.org
Website: www.psoriasis.org
Catie Coman, Director of Communications
Office: (800) 723-9166, ext. 367
E-Mail: ccoman@psoriasis.org
 
National Stroke Association
9707 E. Easter Lane, Suite B
Englewood, CO 80112-3747
Phone: (800) 787-6537
Fax: (303) 649-1328
Website: www.stroke.org
Taryn Fort, Director, Marketing & Communications
Office: (303) 754-0919
Home: (720) 273-0927
E-Mail: tfort@stroke.org
 
The Paget Foundation for Paget’s Disease of Bone and Related Disorders
120 Wall Street, Suite 1602
New York, NY 10005-4001
Phone: (212) 509-5335
Fax: (212) 509-8492
E-Mail: pagetfdn@aol.com
Website: www.paget.org
Charlene Waldman, Executive Director
 
Parkinson’s Disease Foundation
1359 Broadway, Suite 1509
New York, NY 10018
Phone: (212) 923-4700; (800) 457-6676
Fax: (212) 923-4778
E-Mail: info@pdf.org
Website: www.pdf.org
Christiana Evers, Director of Communications
E-Mail: cevers@pdf.org
 
Prevent Blindness America
211 W. Wacker Drive, Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60606
Phone: (312) 363-6001; (800) 331-2020
Fax: (312) 363-6052
E-Mail: info@preventblindness.org
Website: www.preventblindness.org
Sarah Hecker, Director, Media Relations
E-Mail: shecker@preventblindness.org
Jeff Todd, Chief Operating Officer
E-Mail: jtodd@preventblindness.org
 
Pulmonary Hypertension Association
801 Roeder Road, Suite 1000
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 565-3004
Fax: (301) 565-3994
E-Mail: media@phassociation.org
Website: www.phassociation.org
Katherine Kroner
Phone: (301) 565-3004, ext. 749
E-Mail: katherine@phassociation.org
 
Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc.
231 East Baltimore Street, Suite 800
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: (410) 528-1555; (800) 421-8453
Fax: (410) 528-1495
E-Mail: scdaa@sicklecelldisease.org
Website: www.sicklecelldisease.org
 
The Skin Cancer Foundation
149 Madison Avenue, Suite 901
New York, NY 10016
Phone: (212) 725-5176
Fax: (212) 725-5751
E-Mail: info@skincancer.org
Website: www.skincancer.org
Carla Barry-Austin, Director of Marketing Communications
Office: (212) 725-5641
E-Mail: cbarryaustin@skincancer.org
Becky Wiley, Communications Manager
Office: (646) 583-7988
E-Mail: rwiley@skincancer.org
 
Spina Bifida Association
4590 MacArthur Boulevard, N.W., Suite 250
Washington, DC 20007-4226
Phone: (202) 944-3285; (800) 621-3141
Fax: (202) 944-3295
E-Mail: sbaa@sbaa.org
Website: www.spinabifidaassociation.org
 
Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance
801 Roeder Road, Suite 750
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 562-9890; (800) 225-6872
Fax: (301) 562-9870
E-Mail: info@tsalliance.org
Website: www.tsalliance.org
Jaye D. Isham
Office: (301) 562-9890
E-Mail: jisham@tsalliance.org

United Cerebral Palsy (UCP)
1825 K Street NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 776-0406; (800) 872-5827
Fax: (202) 776-0414
E-Mail: info@ucp.org
Website: www.ucp.org
Lauren Cozzi
Office: (202) 973-7114
E-Mail: lcozzi@ucp.org

More On PhRMA — powered by PhRMApedia