Annual Report: 2011

Christopher Viehbacher Becomes New PhRMA Board Chairman

Washington, D.C. (December 6, 2010) – Christopher Viehbacher, chief executive officer of sanofi-aventis, became chairman of the Board of Directors of the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) today upon the resignation of Jeffrey B. Kindler of Pfizer.

In assuming the chairmanship of PhRMA, Viehbacher outlined priorities for the industry.

David Brennan Comments at 2010 PhRMA Annual Meeting

David Brennan,
Chairman and CEO, AstraZeneca

Moving Healthcare Beyond the Unsustainable Status Quo

Pharmaceutical Research and Manufactures of America
Annual Meeting
March 18, 2010

Jeff Kindler Remarks at 2010 PhRMA Annual Meeting

Jeff Kindler
Chairman, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
Chairman & CEO, Pfizer

PhRMA Annual Meeting
Arlington, Virginia
March 18, 2010

A Roadmap to Good Jobs and Good Health

Thank you, David. You will be a very tough act to follow. You have set a great example for the leader of any trade association to emulate—thoughtful, engaged, bringing out the best in each of us, and providing a steady hand in a time when our industry has faced one important challenge after another.

PhRMA Statement on the State of the Union Address

Washington, D.C. (January 27, 2010) — Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) President and CEO Billy Tauzin today issued the following statement regarding President Obama’s State of the Union address:

“Like President Obama, we believe that economic recovery and growth in America hinges on our ability to create new jobs. Ultimately, we can only be a healthier and more prosperous nation if we continue to lay a strong foundation that supports American ingenuity and innovation.

PhRMA Establishes New Committee on Small Biopharmaceutical Companies

Washington, D.C. (July 8, 2009) — The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) today announced the creation of a new committee of its Board of Directors dedicated to small biopharmaceutical companies.

PhRMA’s Board of Directors recently approved the establishment of the new committee, which will be composed of full and research associate members. The committee was created to address the particular issues facing these smaller companies, including the impact public policies may have on such an important sector of our economy.

David Brennan Elected PhRMA Board Chairman

Washington, D.C. (April 3, 2009) — David Brennan, Chief Executive Officer, AstraZeneca, was elected board chairman of the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) today at the trade association’s annual meeting. Also elected were Pfizer Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jeffrey B. Kindler as chairman-elect of the PhRMA Board of Directors and David Y. Norton, Company Group Chairman, Worldwide Commercial and Operations for the Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceuticals Group, as board treasurer.

PhRMA Announces Promotions of Key Federal Affairs Staff

Washington, D.C. (January 22, 2009) — Underscoring a commitment to working with all stakeholders and policymakers to promote health care opportunities for America’s patients and to maintain the innovation that leads to the medicines of the future, the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) has promoted Bob Filippone and Tom Moore to the positions of Vice President, Federal Government Affairs. Filippone and Moore will join fellow Vice President Steve Tilton in reporting to Senior Vice President Bryant Hall.

PhRMA Fills Key Leadership Position; Dr. David Wheadon To Head Scientific Team

Washington, D.C. (January 13, 2009) — Citing the important role that innovation plays in creating new medicines for patients, as well as generating new jobs for the U.S. economy, the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) has filled a key leadership position.


Subscribe to RSS - About