Press Release

2015 "We Work For Health" Champion Award Winners

PhRMA April 17, 2015

Award Honors Extraordinary Efforts in Policy Advocacy and Community Service 

Washington, D.C. (April 17, 2015) — Today, the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) honored 13 employees from 12 biopharmaceutical companies as “We Work For Health Champions” for their extraordinary efforts in policy advocacy and community service.

Established in 2009, the We Work for Health Champion Awards were created by the biopharmaceutical industry to honor employees who have not only excelled in their careers, but have also shown an outstanding commitment to their communities through advocacy, community outreach, educational programs, community service and corporate education programs.

“I am incredibly proud of this year’s We Work for Health Champions. Each honoree embodies a principle we as an industry stand for and hold dear—helping others,” said John Castellani, President and Chief Executive Officer, PhRMA. “These Champions inspire continuous innovation and drive progress toward delivery of life-saving and life-enhancing advancements in medicine to patients. They have set the bar high, and I congratulate them on this honor.”

Nominated by their peers, honorees hailing from New York to California were selected for their exemplary service as ambassadors of the biopharmaceutical industry in the communities in which they live and work.

From building patient education programs on family planning and advocating for critical care legislation to establishing an online interactive diabetes support program and collaborating with patient advocacy groups, these individuals raise awareness of and support for the work of the biopharmaceutical industry. Most importantly, they provide community-enhancing service to the places they call home.

The 2015 We Work For Health Champions include:

  • Edio Zampaglione, MD, FACOG, Vice President, Women’s Healthcare Medical Affairs, Bayer HealthCare
  • Dinorah Williams, Executive Associate II, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Chris Reddick, PhD, Vice President, Global Medical Affairs Research at Takeda Pharmaceuticals
  • Warachal Eileen Faison, MD, Medical Director, Women’s and Men’s Health, Pfizer
  • Jason Pelletier, Area Business Leader, Vermont, Sanofi US
  • Dean G. Gianarkis, PharmD, Medical Outcome Specialist, Pfizer
  • Camille Lee, Senior Vice President, Diabetes & Obesity Marketing, Novo Nordisk
  • Allyson Kayton, Clinical Nurse Educator, Ikaria
  • Zoya Girard, District Sales Manager, Pacific, Celgene
  • Denise Tucker,  Associate Director of Strategy & Planning, Merck
  • Catherine Roman, Corporatized Account Specialist, Strategic Accounts Business Unit, Astellas Pharma US
  • Mary McConnell-Meachen, Executive Director, Environmental Health & Safety, Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Michael A. Devine, RPh, District Sales Manager, GlaxoSmithKline

To learn more about this year’s distinguished honorees, visit We Work for Health’s website at

About We Work for Health

We Work For Health is a grassroots initiative that shows how biopharmaceutical research and medical innovation work together to create a strong, vibrant economy and a healthier America. We unite biopharmaceutical companies with business and community partners to raise awareness about the vital role we all play in delivering life-saving and life-enhancing advancements in medicine, while educating elected leaders on the impact that public policies have on our ability to continue to innovate. Learn more about the organization at

About PhRMA

The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) represents the country’s leading innovative biopharmaceutical research and biotechnology companies, which are devoted to discovering and developing medicines that enable patients to live longer, healthier, and more productive lives. Since 2000, PhRMA member companies have invested more than $550 billion in the search for new treatments and cures, including an estimated $51.1 billion in 2013 alone. Learn more at