Research in North Carolina - Piedmont Triad Region

Biopharmaceutical research companies are conducting or have conducted more than 2,000 clinical trials of new medicines in the Piedmont Triad in collaboration with Wake Forest University School of Medicine, clinical research centers and hospitals (1999 to present). The Piedmont Triad consists of 12 North Carolina counties, including: Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin. 

Of the more than 2,000 clinical trials, 902 have targeted the nation’s six most debilitating chronic diseases—asthma, cancer, diabetes, heart disease, mental illnesses and stroke.

Download PDF